Which governments announce pet food recalls, which bury them inside general recall listings, and which publish nothing at all. Twenty jurisdictions, checked against their live resources.
- 20jurisdictions checked
- 1publishes pet food recalls as its own category, as data
- 5registers we read every day
- 210recalls held, including ones since taken down
Almost every pet food recall page starts from the same assumption: that somewhere there is a list. For most of the world there is not. We checked 20 jurisdictions against their live resources on 7 September 2026, asking three things of each. Can a machine read it. Does anything in it mark which recalls are about animals. Does the licence let anyone else republish it.
One passes all three. France names pet food and livestock feed as subcategories of its recall register and publishes the whole register as data. Everywhere else the answer is that pet food recalls are mixed into everything else, or announced only as web pages, or not published at all. That is the finding, and it is why nobody has this list.
What we read every day
Counted from the record as this page loaded, so it cannot disagree with the finder.
| Where | Register | Licence | Records held |
|---|---|---|---|
| France | RappelConso (DGCCRF), animal entries | Licence Ouverte 2.0 | 98 |
| United States | FDA animal and veterinary recalls | US federal work, public domain | 63 |
| United States | FDA pet food recall enforcement reports | US federal work, public domain | 3 |
| United Kingdom | FSA food alerts, pet entries | Open Government Licence v3.0 | 28 |
| Canada | Health Canada and CFIA recalls, pet entries | Open Government Licence - Canada | 18 |
The whole survey, in one table
The same twenty jurisdictions, sortable by eye and downloadable as CSV at the foot of this page. The reasoning behind each verdict is in the cards below.
| Jurisdiction | Authority | Verdict | Machine readable | Licence | In our record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| France | DGCCRF, RappelConso | A category of its own | Tabular API, plus bulk CSV and JSON | Licence Ouverte 2.0 | yes |
| Norway | Mattilsynet | A category of its own | Listing is web pages; API scope unclear | Not stated for recalls | no |
| United States | FDA | Mixed into general recalls | openFDA API | US federal work, public domain | yes |
| United Kingdom | Food Standards Agency | Mixed into general recalls | Food Alerts API: JSON, CSV, RDF | Open Government Licence v3.0 | yes |
| Canada | Health Canada and the CFIA | Mixed into general recalls | One open data file, refreshed daily: JSON and CSV | Open Government Licence - Canada | yes |
| Australia | ACCC Product Safety | Mixed into general recalls | RSS, rolling window of 25 | CC BY 4.0 | no |
| New Zealand | Ministry for Primary Industries | Web pages only | None found | CC BY 4.0 stated for the site | no |
| Ireland | FSAI | Web pages only | None found | Not stated for reuse | no |
| Netherlands | NVWA | Web pages only | None found | Unverified | no |
| Germany | BVL, lebensmittelwarnung.de | Pet food not covered | RSS for the categories it does carry | Not stated for reuse | no |
| European Union | Safety Gate (RAPEX) | Pet food not covered | Weekly XML | CC BY 4.0 | no |
| European Union | RASFF | Nothing that can be read back | None | Would be fine; nothing to license | no |
| Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Switzerland | national food authorities | Nothing that can be read back | None found | n/a | no |
| Japan | MAFF and FAMIC | Nothing that can be read back | None | n/a | no |
| South Korea | MFDS | Nothing that can be read back | API behind a key | n/a | no |
| Taiwan | food and agriculture agencies | Nothing that can be read back | None for recalls | n/a | no |
| Singapore and Hong Kong | SFA, CFS | Nothing that can be read back | None | n/a | no |
| Brazil | Senacon | Could not verify | CSV, unverified | CC-BY indicated, unverified | no |
| South Africa | National Consumer Commission | Could not verify | Unknown | Unknown | no |
| International bodies | INFOSAN, FSANZ, PFIAA | Nothing that can be read back | None | n/a | no |
A category of its own (2)
The register itself marks which entries are about animals, so the pet recalls can be asked for by name.
France DGCCRF, RappelConso
Pet food and livestock feed are two of the register's own subcategories, so the pet entries can be asked for by name. The whole register, 18,564 rows, goes back to 2018.
Norway Mattilsynet
FĂ´r (feed) is a real filter on the recall listing, the only one we found in Europe outside France. The site links an open data API; we could not find a recall dataset inside it, or a stated licence for reusing one.
Mixed into general recalls (4)
Pet food recalls are published, with no field marking them. They can only be found by matching words, which means some are always missed.
United States FDA
Animal and veterinary recalls get their own listing, but the enforcement reports behind it carry no field separating animal food from human food. A keyword search of the food enforcement file returns cinnamon in PET jars alongside genuine dog food recalls.
United Kingdom Food Standards Agency
Alerts are typed AA, PRIN or FAFA and nothing else. Of the 1,354 alerts published since 2018, 28 concern pet food or animal feed, and the only way to find them is to match the words in the title, the business name and the product names.
Canada Health Canada and the CFIA
A Pet Care/Food category exists and holds four rows out of 34,053. The pet food recalls themselves are filed under Other, Household items and Consumer products, so filtering by category loses almost all of them.
Australia ACCC Product Safety
Seventy-nine category feeds, of which the nearest to this subject is Pet equipment. There is no pet food category, because pet food is not regulated as food in Australia. The feed carries the 25 most recent items only, so it can watch but never backfill.
Web pages only (3)
Recalls are announced, and there is no feed, API or export to read them back from.
New Zealand Ministry for Primary Industries
MPI runs a pet food and animal feed programme and does announce recalls. The listing is web pages; we found no feed, no API and no export.
Ireland FSAI
Alerts are published promptly, but there is no RSS or Atom anywhere on the site and no pet food category to filter on.
Netherlands NVWA
Web listing only. The page metadata asserts CC0, which is not the same as a published data licence, and we could not verify an animal feed facet.
Pet food not covered (2)
The register exists and is machine readable, and its scope leaves out feed and pet food.
Germany BVL, lebensmittelwarnung.de
The portal publishes food, cosmetics, consumer articles, baby and children's products and tattoo inks. There is no feed or pet food product type to select, even though the law it publishes under covers feed as well as food.
European Union Safety Gate (RAPEX)
Weekly XML back to 2013 under CC BY 4.0, which is genuinely machine readable and entirely non-food. No pet or animal category appeared in the weeks we sampled.
Nothing that can be read back (7)
No register, or nothing published in a form anyone can check against later.
European Union RASFF
The alert system exists, but there is nothing to ingest: no export, no API, no open data release. The public window searches 2020 onwards and answers with pages, not data.
Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Switzerland national food authorities
No machine-readable recall resource verified for any of the four. Finland publishes pet food withdrawals as news articles.
Japan MAFF and FAMIC
No central recall register. Pet food recalls are voluntary announcements made by the companies themselves.
South Korea MFDS
An API exists but needs a key, and pet food is the agriculture ministry's remit rather than the food safety ministry's, so the recalls are not in it.
Taiwan food and agriculture agencies
Pet food operator datasets are published. There is no recall dataset.
Singapore and Hong Kong SFA, CFS
Recalls appear as one-off newsroom posts. No register, no pet category, nothing to read back.
International bodies INFOSAN, FSANZ, PFIAA
INFOSAN is members only. FSANZ has a good licence, no API and no pet coverage. The pet food industry association publishes a recall protocol, which is a procedure, not a register.
Could not verify (2)
Something may be there. We could not reach it on the day, so we claim nothing.
Brazil Senacon
A CKAN CSV exists and the portal facet indicates CC-BY, but the dataset page would not open when we checked. Depth, columns and pet food coverage are all unverified, so we make no claim about it.
South Africa National Consumer Commission
Real pet food recalls are published here, but the listing page was unreachable when we checked. Worth another look before anyone concludes anything.
How this was checked
Every resource above was opened and read on 7 September 2026, not quoted from a summary. Where a number appears it was counted: 1,354 UK alerts, 34,053 rows in the Canadian file, 18,564 in the French one.
A register joins our record when it passes all three tests, and stays out when it fails one. The reason is written here rather than left as a silence. Two entries say only that we could not reach the resource on the day: that is a gap in our checking, not a finding about the country.
If you keep one of these registers, or know of a feed we missed, tell us and this page changes. How we hold what we read is described in the method, and the recalls themselves are in the recall finder.
| Register | Records held | Read | Last read without error |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian recalls and safety alerts, pet entries (CA) | 18 | daily | 10 September 2026, 17:07 UTC |
| FDA animal and veterinary recalls (US) | 63 | every 12 hours | 11 September 2026, 07:10 UTC |
| FDA pet food recall enforcement reports (US) | 4 | daily | 10 September 2026, 17:07 UTC |
| RappelConso, France (DGCCRF), animal entries (FR) | 98 | every 12 hours | 11 September 2026, 07:10 UTC |
| UK FSA pet food alerts (GB) | 28 | every 6 hours | 11 September 2026, 07:59 UTC |