Can Dogs Eat Salmon? There Is a Real Disease Here
This page is not veterinary advice. Paw Multiverse is not a veterinary practice. We cannot examine, diagnose or treat your animal. There are no doses here, no portion sizes, no feeding amounts and no treatment steps, on purpose. If your pet has eaten something you are worried about, or has changed in a way you cannot explain, ring your vet or your nearest emergency clinic and let them decide. Full disclaimer.
This is one of the very few food questions on this site where a named, documented, potentially fatal disease sits behind the answer, so it gets a proper page.
Cooked salmon is not on any toxicity list we could find. Raw or undercooked salmon has a Merck Veterinary Manual entry of its own, with a named bacterium, a named parasite and a named geography.
Salmon poisoning disease, as Merck describes it
Merck keeps an entry titled Salmon Poisoning Disease in Dogs. The cause is Neorickettsia helminthoeca, “a gram-negative obligate intracellular bacterium”. It reaches the dog inside a fluke, Nanophyetus salmincola, which the dog swallows in “raw or undercooked fish, most commonly salmonids”. Source: Merck Veterinary Manual, Salmon Poisoning Disease in Dogs (read 5 Aug 2026).
On timing, Merck writes that clinical signs appear “approximately 7 days after infected fish is ingested; however, signs can be delayed up to 33 days”. That is a long window, and it is the single most useful sentence on this page, because it means a dog that seemed fine after eating raw salmon last week is not necessarily out of it.
On prevention, the entry is blunt: “the only means to prevent SPD is to restrict the ingestion of fish”.
On geography, “distribution of the disease is limited in the US to coastal areas of the Pacific Northwest”, with occurrence inland along the rivers the fish migrate up. If you are not in or near that range, this is not your risk. If you are, it is a real one.
What Merck does not say, and what we will not fill in
The entry we read does not state a mortality rate for untreated dogs, and it does not discuss whether cooking or freezing inactivates the organism. Both of those are things you will find asserted confidently elsewhere. We could not source either, so neither appears here as fact.
What the page does say about prevention is to restrict the ingestion of fish, which is a different and more cautious statement than any claim about a temperature or a freezing time.
There is no treatment on this page, no dose and no home measure. There is a disease with a name, and a vet who can act on that name.
Cooked salmon, and the general raw concern
There is no entry for salmon in the Merck food hazards chapter and none in the ASPCA list of people foods to avoid. Sources: Merck Veterinary Manual, Food Hazards (read 5 Aug 2026) and ASPCA Animal Poison Control, People Foods to Avoid Feeding Your Pets (read 5 Aug 2026).
The ASPCA names raw meat and eggs among people foods to avoid, because they “can contain bacteria such as Salmonella and E. coli”. The FDA ran a two year study of raw pet food between October 2010 and July 2012, testing 196 samples: “15 were positive for Salmonella and 32 were positive for L. monocytogenes”. Sources: ASPCA Animal Poison Control, People Foods to Avoid Feeding Your Pets (read 5 Aug 2026) and US FDA, Get the Facts! Raw Pet Food Diets Can Be Dangerous (read 5 Aug 2026).
Bones sit alongside that. MSD names bones among the objects that are “slowly digested” and can obstruct the gastrointestinal tract. Source: MSD Veterinary Manual, Gastrointestinal Obstruction in Small Animals (read 5 Aug 2026).
The honest summary
Cooked, boneless salmon has no published toxicology for dogs. Raw or undercooked salmonid fish carries a documented rickettsial disease with a long and variable incubation period, limited to a described geography, and Merck says the only prevention is not to let the dog eat the fish. If your dog has eaten raw salmon in that range, the useful thing you can do is tell your vet exactly that, including the date, because of the 33 day tail.
What we could not source for this page
Everything below was attempted on 5 August 2026 and is written here rather than left as a silent gap.
- No publisher we could reach gives a portion, a frequency or a maximum for any human food given to a dog, and neither do we.
- PDSA and Blue Cross both publish pages on foods dogs should not eat. Both addresses returned 404 on the attempts made for this page, so neither is quoted here.
- Merck does not state a mortality rate for untreated salmon poisoning disease on the page we read, and does not discuss cooking or freezing. We could not source either elsewhere.
- MSD trichinellosis in small animals returned 404, so no parasite claim is made here about any other raw meat.
Where to go next
The parent reference for every food on this site is Can My Pet Eat It, which carries all 92 food and species pairs with the publisher and the date read. The species hub is can dogs eat. If your dog has already eaten something, go to my dog ate something, the poison control directory and pet emergency. The printable version is the poison control directory.